Two, Terrible Two?

I have a 2-year old toddler by tomorrow. I can’t wait to see him blow his candle. My sister and I planned what kind of cake to pick up at red ribbon tomorrow afternoon. We will have a special dinner for my son’s birthday.  I kept hearing years back about how a two year old toddler is described, the “Terrible Two”… but I wonder if my older son and daughter were once a terrible two.

I tried to recall how my two eldest kids were when they were but two years old. I hardly remember. Memories are so vague. I had three major operations. And I believe anesthesia really damages brain cell and debases memory. But I am pretty sure their growing years were fun for all of us.

So i browse the internet and review the developmental stages… Here’s what I found.

Two years old kid loves to explore, examine, test, and try to figure out what is happening around them. Day by day, you can watch your child make connections and discover relationships. He will start to demonstrate new abilities — to communicate, to perform, and to exert his independence — all on his own. It is unfortunate (although understandable) that this age is typically referred to as the terrible twos. The reality of being two means standing up for oneself as an individual in no uncertain terms, and is an entirely normal part of development. True, it can be frustrating at times, but try not to let your child’s temporary phase of defiance and tantrums overshadow his new achievements and abilities.

MILESTONES
By the age of two, children’s different personalities and skills definitely shine through. The following milestones are meant to give you an idea of the average age that children master various milestones, but be aware that most children will not be completely average. They often excel in certain areas while paying little attention to others at any given time. If, however, you are concerned about your child’s development, be sure to address your concerns with your child’s doctor.

Between the ages of 2 and 3 years, you’re likely to see your child:

  1. Talk in sentences.
  2. Start to understand rules.
  3. Run, jump, and climb.
  4. Name and categorize.
  5. Dress himself.
  6. Show an interest in toilet training.
–  source is from http://wondertime.go.com/learning/